A Life Less Blog


East Coast Summer
August 10, 2010, 7:28 am
Filed under: Emotions, Life, Poetry | Tags: , ,

I’m a California girl at heart, born and raised there most of my life….having moved to the East Coast in 2007, I still have been getting used to the differences between the seasons.  Summer for me is the worst, and if anyone asks…I always say, bring on the snow!

summer to me has become the constant hum of our window unit.

it is too hot to go outside and too humid to enjoy the sun.

summer to me has become iced tea, and sherbet, long movies

with the volume turned up as loud as it can go on the TV

to drown out the buzzing of the air conditioner.

summer to me has become watching how lazy my dog is

as he lounges on his back, his legs up like a dead cockroach and his ears lying

open and raised above his head like a bat’s

he has a half-smile that shows one side of his teeth and a small line of spittle

oozing out of the other side of his gum line

he is happily dreaming of colder days.

summer is now blockbuster movies and being allowed to wear capri pants to work,

living in flip-flops, and getting excited about a trip to the grocery store because it is

at least 20 degrees cooler in there than at home.

it is feeling trapped in your own house while the sun looks so inviting and the

clouds are beautiful and fluffy, only to be assaulted by hot air that sucks the

moisture out of your eyeballs as soon as you open the door.

it is barbeques and picnics, on the days where the humidity has gone down

and tick spray and citronella candles, swatting at mosquitoes in your mother-in-laws

backyard and back-to-school shopping.

it is vitamin D supplement tablets and cutting up watermelon

it is frozen grapes because you can’t afford Popsicles and being envious of

your relatives in California that can drive 20 minutes to the beach

it is wishing you had a pool and then realizing you would have to maintain it during the

winter and then silently thanking your lucky stars you don’t have one

summer to me has become waiting out the humidity and testing the air each night

for a cool breeze, trying to open the windows instead of run the air, and then just give up

it is constantly running ceiling fans and box fans and carrying around a spray bottle of water

summer to me is now big bottles of water and Gatorade and coconut water, taking four separate

drinks to work and making sure I remember to drink them

summer to me is being glad I love my husband so much because I see him around all

the time and when we are broke we find fun things to do at home together

summer to me is promising myself I will exercise so when winter comes and we are forced back

inside by the snow and the rain and the sleet and the hail, I will not be so out of shape

summer is making promises of taking better care of myself and then always finding something

more fun to do than exercise

summer is salads and squash and avocados (if they are ripe enough)

summer is wishing it was autumn already and visiting my parents looking like a ghost

summer is coming back from California with a tan and trying to maintain it long enough for my

sister’s wedding in just a few weeks…

summer is another season, in another year in my roller coaster of an ever-changing,

ever-growing, new and exciting life where anything is possible and everything is an opportunity.

7 Comments so far
Leave a comment

http://jingleyanqiu.wordpress.com/2010/08/27/friendship-means-a-world-2-me/
pick three awards from my post,
pass them to 1 to 10 blogging friends with whom you believe that they deserve them.
have fun!
Take good care.

Comment by Jingle

http://thursdaypoetsrallypoetry.wordpress.com/2010/08/27/the-perfect-poet-award-4-week-27/

letting u know that u have won the perfect poet award week 27.
Happy Friday

Comment by Jingle

great description – you really brought me back to childhood summers in Connecticut, the only respite when we went to Cape Cod for two weeks and lived virtually on the beach. I love the dog like a dead cockroach and ears up like a bat;
Really nice work!!

Comment by brokenpenwriter

to complete the task,
I suggest that you start with participants,
visiting participants will more likely to get feedback on your work…
good luck!
have fun!
thanks for signing in birthday celebrations.

Comment by Jingle

http://jingleyanqiu.wordpress.com/happy-2nd-birthday-2-nohas-twin-babies/

help visit a long time Poets Rally member celebrate her twin babies’ birthday today,
all the best!
🙂
Thank you in advance!
Cheers!

Comment by Jingle

nice post,
Fall is the best maybe…
summer is too hot,
winter is too cold…
have a fun day!

Comment by Jingle

You’re not alone, personally i long for autumn.
And and getting happy because we are getting close

Comment by Artswebshow




Leave a Reply

